Stanford University News Service



CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

McLaughlin elected to National Academy of Education

STANFORD -- Stanford University education Prof. Milbrey McLaughlin was elected to the National Academy of Education in May, bringing to 16 the number of Stanford scholars in the prestigious society.

McLaughlin is director of the federally funded Center for Research on the Context of Secondary School Teaching.

In addition to her work with the center, McLaughlin has received national attention for her work researching successful youth programs for inner-city teens, with linguistics Prof. Shirley Brice Heath (also a member of the academy).

The academy, which is the nation's leading honorary society of education scholars, was established in 1965 by a small group of education leaders, including education Prof. John Gardner. Membership in the academy is limited to 75; members are selected for "outstanding contributions to education."

The academy is often called on by government agencies and other groups to conduct special studies and reviews in the public's interest.

Lee Shulman, Charles E. Ducommun Professor of Education, is currently the academy's president. McLaughlin's election brings the current total of Stanford faculty and emeriti membership in the academy to 16, plus another member affiliated with the Hoover Institution.



This is an archived release.

This release is not available in any other form. Images mentioned in this release are not available online.
Stanford News Service has an extensive library of images, some of which may be available to you online. Direct your request by EMail to

© Stanford University. All Rights Reserved. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300.