Stanford University News Service



CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Baltic republic represented in fourth session of Hoover diplomat training program

STANFORD -- Representatives from three of the Baltic republics have joined diplomats from Eastern and Central Europe in the fourth session of the Hoover Institution's Diplomat Training Program.

Veiko Jurisson of Estonia, Janis Karklinch and Guntis Valujevs of Latvia, and Petras Austrevicius and Darius Jurgelevicius of Lithuania join 11 other government officials from Bulgaria, the Czech and Slovak Federal Republic, Hungary, Poland and Romania. The session began in late March and will conclude in early June.

"We're very pleased to include diplomats from the Baltic republics in the program. It's an appropriate and timely development as those newly independent countries build and expand foreign ministries in their new governments," said Associate Director Richard Sousa, who oversees the program.

The training program is designed to equip young diplomats for the future by exposing them to the academic and intellectual resources of the Hoover Institution and Stanford University. The program introduces them to Western political and academic perspectives on economic, diplomatic, and social issues and to American culture.

Participants attend a seminar series at Hoover and formal classes at Stanford. They also visit private businesses in California and take time for recreation by visiting such attractions as Yosemite National Park. At the conclusion of the session, they spend one week in Washington, D.C., where they have an opportunity to meet U.S. government officials and political leaders.

Sousa is assisted by Research Assistant Dana Harris in administration of the program. Senior Fellow Charles McLure, National Fellow Valdimir Sambiaew and historian Bertrand Patenaude coordinate the academic session.

Participants in the current session are:

  • Bulgaria: Gueorgui Kostianev, third secretary, Japan desk, Asian department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Branimir Mladenov, third secretary, Turkish desk, Balkan department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs;
  • Czech and Slovak Federal Republic: Rudolf Hykl, desk officer, African department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs;. Viktor Zemlicka, country officer, Asian department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs;
  • Estonia: Veiko Jurisson, acting head of Political Department;
  • Hungary: Zoltan Hernyes, desk officer, French desk, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Gyula Petho, desk officer, Iranian desk, Ministry of Foreign Affairs;
  • Latvia: Janis Karklinch, deputy director, administrative department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Guntis Valujevs, director, political department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs;
  • Lithuania: Petras Austrevicius, first secretary, North European department; Darius Jurgelevicius, second secretary, head of the International Treaties Division;
  • Poland: Pawel Cieplak, councilor, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Marek Jeziorski, European department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Leszek Wieciech, section head, personnel department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs;
  • Romania: Andrei Capusan, attache, cultural division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; George Ciamba, staff member, Ministry of Foreign Affairs.



This is an archived release.

This release is not available in any other form. Images mentioned in this release are not available online.
Stanford News Service has an extensive library of images, some of which may be available to you online. Direct your request by EMail to

© Stanford University. All Rights Reserved. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300.