Stanford University News Service



CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Ten students receive dean's award for service to Stanford

STANFORD -- Ten Stanford students, including two who organized a leap-frogging event for charity and another who resurrected the Stanford Debate Society, have received the James W. Lyons Award for Service for their exceptional contributions to the university.

They are: Traci Baird of Santa Ana, Calif.; Sarah Birkeland of Marietta, Ga., Brian Cook of Norwich, Vt., Tracy Goode of Los Angeles; Solina Kwan of Palo Alto, Calif.; Mae Lee of Cupertino, Calif.; Dmitri Mehlhorn of Richmond, Calif.; Joy St. John of Stanford, Calif.; James Wu of Littleton, Colo.; and Rolando Zeledon of San Jose.

The students were honored at a ceremony and dinner March 4. The awards, named for Stanford's longtime dean of student affairs, were presented by the current dean of students, Michael Jackson. Lyons retired in 1990.

Baird, a senior majoring in human biology, was honored for her commitment to issues of campus safety, and especially for her work on campus alcohol education programs, the university's Sexual Assault Task Force, the Special Services Unit of the Police Department, and as a head resident assistant.

Sophomores Birkeland and Cook, both undeclared majors, were cited for their year-long support of the East Palo Alto Creative Adventures Learning Center. In addition to tutoring children at the center, the students helped to organize Operation Lilypad, a 10-day leap-frogging event that set a new world record and raised $10,000 for the center.

Goode and Wu, seniors majoring in economics and political science, respectively, were recognized for their contributions to Stanford residence life. The two have served as house officers, residence assistants, orientation coordinators, and as advisers to fellow students.

Kwan, a senior majoring in economics and history, was cited for her work with Stanford's student government. In addition to being chair of the student senate, she served on the Cabinet Committee on Budget and Strategic Planning, bringing an undergraduate voice to the task of university budget cutting. Kwan also is a member of the varsity tennis team, the Stanford Axe Committee and is a notetaker for the Disability Resource Center.

Lee, a senior majoring in international relations, was cited for her involvement in Stanford's Asian American community, through leadership in the Asian American Activities Center, the Big Sib/Little Sib program, the Stanford Asian Youth Project and the San Jose-based Asian Americans for Community Involvement, as well as for her creative contributions to multicultural education and resident assistant training.

Mehlhorn, a senior majoring in political science, was named for his dogged determination to save the moribund Stanford Debate Society. In addition to helping the society grow to more than 50 members, Mehlhorn has worked to resurrect a parliamentary debate league on the West Coast, recruited freshman debaters to Stanford, and served as volunteer coach to local high school debate teams.

St. John, a senior majoring in political science, was honored for coordinating Stanford's Advising Associate Program, bringing improved training, orientation, written materials and ongoing support to 260 student peer advisers throughout the year. St. John also worked long hours as a volunterr for Stanford's annual Sophomore Celebration and Centennial Week activities.

Zeledon, a senior majoring in mechanical engineering, was cited for his leadership of the Society of Chicano/Latino Engineers and Scientists, a club that attracts many graduate student members, and for co-founding the Latino Student Association. Zeledon also performs with Stanford's Ballet Folklorico and is an advising associate and board member of the Stanford Engineering Association.

The James W. Lyons Award for Service was established in 1981 to recognize service contributions made by students from a variety of schools, departments, teams, clubs, residences and community projects. All enrolled students are eligible.

Selections are made on the basis of nominations from faculty, staff and students. Nominations can be made in the form of a letter or memo addressed to Michael L. Jackson, Dean of Students, 323 Old Union. The deadline for submitting nominations for spring quarter is April 17.


lid, hometown deansawards


This is an archived release.

This release is not available in any other form. Images mentioned in this release are not available online.
Stanford News Service has an extensive library of images, some of which may be available to you online. Direct your request by EMail to

© Stanford University. All Rights Reserved. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300.