CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Business School honors 379 with graduate degrees

STANFORD -- Father's Day was family day at the Business School's commencement Sunday, June 16.

Parents beamed as 379 students received graduate degrees, spouses and significant others took their bows for "putting partner through," and "Biz kids" played on the slopes of Frost Amphitheater during the ceremony.

The school awarded eight doctorates and 330 master's of business administration degrees. Of the latter, three were JD/MBAs awarded jointly with the School of Law.

A record 42 Public Management certificates went to students who took the additional coursework needed to qualify. Additionally, 41 graduates of the yearlong Sloan program for mid- level managers received the Master of Science in management.

Students in the top 10 percent of the MBA class were designated Arjay Miller Scholars, named after a former dean of the School. (Recipients' names follow.)

As the top scholar, Bruce C. Cozadd was named Henry Ford II Scholar and will receive a $5,000 award. David A. Donnini was selected by the finance faculty for the Alexander A. Robichek Student Achievement Award in Finance, which honors a former faculty member.

Sandy Scott was selected by her classmates to receive the Ernest C. Arbuckle Award, presented to the second-year student whose "active participation, initiative, leadership and personal integrity is judged as having contributed most to the fulfillment of the goals of the Graduate School of Business." The award is the student body's way of honoring that individual who has shared with them a unique blend of activism and character, said Susan Arbuckle, daughter of the late dean for whom the award is named.

Scott, a resident of Menlo Park, Calif., is a 1966 graduate of the University of California, a re-entry student who gained most of her management skills through active volunteer work. Her commitment to volunteerism continued throughout the rigorous MBA program.

A. Michael Spence presides over his first commencement since becoming dean.

"This is a school with a heart and a soul," he said. "We are proud of your academic and intellectual achievements. We are equally proud of your public service and charitable and volunteer work."

The Arjay Miller Scholars are: Robert Azerad, Christopher S. Bender, Ephraim Bird, Paul S. Bloom, Leigh W. Carnahan, John H. Chang, Peter P. Chang, Stanley N. Chin, Miles R. Cook, Bruce C. Cozadd, Michael Dahl, David A. Donnini, Manuel Ebner, Hadley C. Ford, Jack H. Fuchs, Matthew K. Fust, Marc Goldstein, Richard A. Goldstein, Richard J. Goldstein, Patrick L. Gordan, Sharon J. Hoffman, Tracey A. Horton, Deborah A. Keir, Nathanael V. Lentz, Noam I. Levy, Gabriel M. Low, Charles F. McGlashan, Patricia E. Nakache, George D. Phipps, Erin A. Ryan, Daniel N. Swisher, Douglas J. Valenti, Darryl E. Wash.



This is an archived release.

This release is not available in any other form. Images mentioned in this release are not available online.
Stanford News Service has an extensive library of images, some of which may be available to you online. Direct your request by EMail to newslibrary@stanford.edu.