CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Undergraduate essayists honored

STANFORD -- Eight undergraduates have won 1991 Boothe Prizes for Excellence in Writing, Dean of Undergraduate Studies Thomas Wasow announced.

The prizes, first awarded in 1983, honor outstanding freshmen essays from Freshman English and from the Cultures, Ideas and Values (CIV) courses. Essays from spring quarter 1990 through winter quarter 1991 were considered.

Within CIV, the winners were Cynthia Benton, a freshman from Houston; Adam Gould, a freshman from Los Angeles; and Joshua Keller, a sophomore from La Jolla, Calif. Honorable mentions went to Mark Abbott, a freshman from Sarasota, Fla.; Brenda Krantz, a freshman from Irvine, Calif.; and Maria Peters, a sophomore from San Francisco.

Boothe Prizes for Freshman English essays were earned by Matthew Eid, a freshman from Burnsville, Minn.; David Landhuis, a freshman from Fort Dodge, Iowa; Hallie Loring, now a sophomore from Belvedere, Calif.; Alonford Robinson, a freshman from San Jose; and David Thomas, a freshman from Los Angeles.

Honorable mentions went to freshmen Jason Snyder of Flossmoor, Ill., and Karen Witzel of Hillsborough, Calif.

Prize winners received a cash award at the May 22 ceremony, and all students recognized were given a copy of The Riverside Shakespeare with a calligraphed bookplate. Introducing the students at the Faculty Club reception were Wasow, Dean of Humanities and Sciences Ewart Thomas, Charles Fifer, chairman of the Freshman English program, and Paul Seaver, chairman of CIV.



This is an archived release.

This release is not available in any other form. Images mentioned in this release are not available online.
Stanford News Service has an extensive library of images, some of which may be available to you online. Direct your request by EMail to newslibrary@stanford.edu.