CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Nine honored with Dean's Awards for Academic Achievement

STANFORD -- The 1991 winners of the Dean's Award for Academic Achievement were announced Tuesday, April 16, by Thomas Wasow, dean of undergraduate studies.

The award, now in its third year, is given to extraordinary undergraduates. Selection is made by a committee under the direction of the dean from nominations submitted by faculty members who work closely with undergraduates.

"Students receive recognition at Stanford for so many of their accomplishments in areas such as athletics and service, but, except for Commencement awards, most academic achievements are a private matter," Wasow said. "We created this award to celebrate some of the exceptional scholarly achievements of our undergraduates and to bring them campuswide recognition."

The 1991 Dean's Award winners are:

Rita A. Roca, senior, history, from Bronx, N.Y.

Eric L. Hutton, sophomore, Asian languages, from Houston, Tex.

Borjana Mikic, senior, mechanical engineering, from Cambridge, Mass.

Edward J. Stones, senior, chemical engineering, from Murrysville, PA.

Mark L. Georgiev, senior, humanities, from San Diego, Calif.

Mark C. Torrance, senior, symbolic systems, from Torrance, Calif.

Bruce S. Fischer, senior, mathematics, from Syosset, N.Y.

Deborah L. Wicks, senior, music, from Long Beach, Calif.

Matthew R. Kratter, senior, music, from Bellevue, Wash.



This is an archived release.

This release is not available in any other form. Images mentioned in this release are not available online.
Stanford News Service has an extensive library of images, some of which may be available to you online. Direct your request by EMail to newslibrary@stanford.edu.