Stanford University

News Service



Craig Kapitan, News Service (650) 724-5708;

David Abernethy wins award for volunteer service

David B. Abernethy, professor of political science and senior fellow at the Institute for International Studies, is the 19th recipient of the Stanford Alumni Association's Richard W. Lyman Award for faculty volunteer service at Stanford. The award recognizes unique and dedicated initiatives in service to the university and the Stanford Alumni Association on the part of members of the faculty.

The service award, which was established in 1983 in honor of President Emeritus Richard Lyman, provides funds for additions to the permanent collection of the Stanford University Libraries in areas of special interest to the recipient.

Abernethy will be presented with the award in January 2002.

Previous recipients include Nancy Parker, William Durham, Wanda Corn, Albert Hastorf and Robert Gregg.


By Craig Kapitan

© Stanford University. All Rights Reserved. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300. Terms of Use  |  Copyright Complaints