Stanford University

News Service



Dawn Levy, News Service (650) 725-1944; e-mail:

Seven Stanford scholars elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) recently announced its election of 288 new Fellows, including seven scientists from Stanford Robert H. Siemann, Carol L. Boggs, Eric T. Kool, David B. McKay, James A. Spudich, Lucy S. Tompkins and Paul A. Wender.

AAAS members are elevated to the Fellow rank in recognition of their efforts toward advancing science or their fostering of applications deemed scientifically or socially distinguished. New Fellows be will presented with a certificate and a pin on February 16 at the 2002 AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston.

Robert H. Siemann, professor at the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center, was cited "for outstanding contributions to the theory of particle accelerators and for pioneering service as founding editor of the electronic journal Physical Review Special Topics Accelerators and Beams."

Carol L. Boggs, associate professor (teaching) of biological sciences, was cited "for pioneering in the study of resource allocation in animal evolutionary ecology, especially in the context of mating systems and other aspects of life histories."

Eric T. Kool, professor of chemistry, was cited "for important contributions to the understanding of physical principles governing DNA-DNA interactions, including hydrogen bonding and base stacking and entropic effects in general."

David B. McKay, professor of structural biology, was cited "for crystallographic and biophysical studies providing insights in macromolecular structure and mechanisms of microbial virulence factors, molecular chaperone proteins, and catalytic RNAs."

James A. Spudich, the Douglass M. and Nola Leishman Professor of Cardiovascular Disease, was cited "for major contributions to the understanding of cell motility and development of in vitro methods for measurements of molecular motors."

Lucy S. Tompkins, professor of medicine (infectious diseases and geographic medicine) and of microbiology and immunology, was cited "for fundamental studies on bacterial pathogenesis."

Paul A. Wender, the Francis W. Bergstrom Professor, was cited "for elegant synthetic accomplishments at the organic/molecular biology interface."

Founded in 1848, AAAS is the world's largest federation of scientists and works to advance science for human well-being through its projects, programs and publications, which include the prestigious, peer-reviewed journal Science.



© Stanford University. All Rights Reserved. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300. Terms of Use  |  Copyright Complaints