Online voting under way for 2014-15 Faculty Senate

The senate, which is composed of 55 voting members serving staggered 2-year terms and 15 ex officio members, is the legislative body of Stanford's Academic Council, and has responsibility for academic and research policy, as well as the authority to grant degrees.

The online polls are open to elect members of the 47th Senate of the Academic Council and to nominate full professors to fill upcoming vacancies on the Academic Council's Advisory Board.

Voting, which began Feb. 11, ends at 11:59 p.m. Wednesday, March 5.

Voters will be able to cast ballots from their computers on a secure webpage. Voters will be required to sign in with SUNet ID to cast ballots.

Each year approximately half of the 55 elected members of the Faculty Senate are up for re-election. Members serve 2-year staggered terms.

Nominations to the Advisory Board

The Advisory Board, which handles the appointment, promotion and tenure of the Academic Council faculty, also provides recommendations and advice to the university president on a range of issues.

The board is composed of seven members who serve 3-year staggered terms.

Two members of the current Advisory Board – the representatives of electoral Group II (Electoral Unit #4, School of Engineering) and Group VI (Electoral Unit #13, School of Medicine, Section B) – are up for re-election this year. Academic Council members from Groups II and VI will be voting to nominate candidates.

The second round of voting for the Advisory Board, which will be open to all Academic Council members, will be held in March. The results will be announced in spring quarter.

An election for the chair of the senate and for its steering committee also will be held in March. The results of that election also will be announced in spring quarter.

The senate includes 15 ex officio members: President John Hennessy, Provost John Etchemendy, the deans of the seven schools, the directors of the Hoover Institution and the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, the vice provosts for undergraduate and for graduate education, the dean of research and the Academic Secretary to the university.