Panel to discuss units in majors at today's Faculty Senate meeting

The 45th Senate of the Academic Council will convene at 3:15 p.m. in the Law School.

In its first meeting of fall quarter, the Faculty Senate will hear a five-member panel discuss units of credit required for different majors. The panelists are:

  • Martha A. Cyert, senior associate vice provost for undergraduate education and professor of biology;
  • Kathryn Moler, professor of applied physics and of physics;
  • Brad Osgood, senior associate dean for student affairs in the School of Engineering and professor of electrical engineering;
  • Gavin Jones, professor of English; and
  • Rosemary Knight, professor of geophysics.

The presentations and discussion will give the senate the opportunity to see what's going on across the university in terms of the number of units required by different majors in the past few years and for the senate to discuss those changes.

In addition, Howard A. Zebker, professor of electrical engineering and of geophysics, will present the 2011-2012 Annual Report of the Committee on Academic Computing and Information Systems. The 31-page report can be found on the Faculty Senate website on the Oct. 11 agenda for the meeting.

The senate meeting will begin at 3:15 p.m. in Room 180 of the Law School. Discussion is limited to members of the senate, but members of the Stanford community may request to attend the meeting by contacting the Academic Secretary's Office at 723-4992 or Trish Del Pozzo at