Winners chosen for 2011 President's Awards for Excellence Through Diversity

The individual who won this year's award is Albert Camarillo, professor of American history, the Miriam and Peter Haas Centennial Professor in Public Service and the special assistant to the provost for faculty diversity. The program that won this year's award is the Biomedical Association for the Interest of Minority Students.

L.A. Cicero Albert Camarillo portrait

American history Professor Albert Camarillo

A professor of American history, who is described as "a constant champion of diversity at Stanford," and a student organization devoted to addressing the needs and concerns of minority graduate students in the biosciences will each receive a 2011 President's Award for Excellence Through Diversity.

President John Hennessy will confer the awards on Monday, June 6, at a private reception.

They are the third set of recipients of the awards, which were established in 2009.

Albert "Al" Camarillo, a professor of American history, the Miriam and Peter Haas Centennial Professor in Public Service and special assistant to the provost for faculty diversity, was honored "for more than three decades of leadership in supporting greater diversity in the faculty, staff and student body at Stanford."

The award citation also lauded Camarillo "for his passion and commitment to making the university a more diverse institution, resulting in the development of more than 40 new courses on race and ethnicity, the establishment of the Center for Comparative Studies in Race and Ethnicity, and many other contributions."

In addition, Camarillo was honored "for his work in advancing the Faculty Development Initiative, which has brought new faculty to Stanford engaged in race and ethnicity scholarship, and generated better approaches to recruiting women and under-represented minorities."

Finally, he was commended "for mentoring countless numbers of undergraduate and graduate students."

The Biomedical Association for the Interest of Minority Students (BioAIMS) represents graduate students from all 13 biosciences PhD programs and departments within the School of Medicine and the School of Humanities and Sciences.

Antonia Dominguez, president of the association, will accept the award on behalf of the group, which was founded in 2004.

The association's goals are to promote the recruitment and active retention of minority students for graduate studies in the biological sciences; facilitate academic success through academically focused workshops; stimulate professional growth through career development sessions; and make an impact on the surrounding Stanford communities through various outreach and mentoring programs.

The group was honored "for its active participation in the recruitment of diverse students to Stanford's doctoral programs in the biosciences."

The organization also was commended "for the regular program of academic and professional development activities it offers to minority biosciences PhD students."

In addition, the association was honored "for its outreach to middle school and high school students, working to diversify the educational pipeline for the sciences at Stanford, as well as within the greater community."

The diversity awards, which were established in 2009, were developed to honor individuals and programs that have made exceptional contributions to enhancing and supporting diversity, broadly defined, at Stanford. Usually, two awards will be given each year: one to an individual among the faculty, students and staff; another to a campus unit, such as a department, program or office.

The annual awards were created to recognize contributions to diversity in many aspects of university life, including recruitment programs, mentoring efforts, curricular projects, staff development programs and community-building activities.