Three exceptional staff members to receive 2010 Amy J. Blue Awards

The awards ceremony will take place from 3:30 to 5 p.m. Tuesday, May 18, in Lagunita Courtyard.

This year, staff members in the Department of Project Management, the Pathology Department and the History Department will receive Amy J. Blue Awards.

Now in its 20th year, the awards honor staff members who are exceptionally dedicated, supportive of colleagues and passionate about their work.

The honorees are Maggie Burgett, senior project manager in the Department of Project Management; Galen Crivello, computer systems manager in the Pathology Department of Stanford School of Medicine; and Monica Wheeler, administrative services manager for the History Department.

The awards were established in 1991 to honor the life and work of Amy J. Blue, an associate vice president for administrative services and facilities who died of brain cancer in May 1988, about a month before her 45th birthday.

The university also created a garden in her name, a small oasis of flowering trees and shrubs now located near Memorial Church. It has four wooden benches, including one that rocks, and a sundial with an engraved motto: "Count only happy hours." The original Amy J. Blue Garden was located in the Serra Complex, which was torn down to make way for the new Knight Management Center.

Blue was known as a whirlwind of a woman who propelled excitement, intensity and novelty into every undertaking. She also was known as an extraordinary leader – a woman of incisive intelligence, abundant energy and unrelenting honesty.

A committee composed of past Amy Blue winners, as well as faculty and other staff, received more than 440 nominations for 133 individuals for the 2010 awards.

Burgett, Crivello and Wheeler will be honored at a ceremony that will take place from 3:30 to 5 p.m. May 18 in Lagunita Courtyard (off Santa Teresa Street, across from Roble Gym).

All of this year's nominees and those who nominated them are invited to the event.

The award includes a $3,000 prize and an "A" parking permit for next year.