Ten scholars, researchers named to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

TEN scholars and researchers from Stanford have been named fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

They are among the 229 leaders in the sciences, social sciences, humanities, arts, business and public affairs elected this month to the prestigious honorary societies. A center for independent policy research, the Academy celebrates the 230th anniversary of its founding this year.


Christopher B. Field, professor of biology and of environmental Earth system science; director, Department of Global Ecology, Carnegie Institution of Washington.

Christopher Field

Michael A. Keller, the Ida M. Green University Librarian; director, Academic Information Resources; publisher, Highwire Press.

Michael Keller

Karla Kirkegaard, professor and chair, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, School of Medicine.

Karla Kirkegaard

Michael Levitt, professor of structural biology, School of Medicine.

Michael Levitt

Grigori Mints, professor of philosophy and, by courtesy, of mathematics.

Grigori Mints

Parviz Moin, the Franklin P. and Caroline M. Johnson Professor in the School of Engineering; professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering.

Parviz Moin

Myron S. Scholes, the Frank E. Buck Professor of Finance, Emeritus, Graduate School of Business; retired chairman, Platinum Grove Asset Management LP.

Myron Scholes

Gary Michael Segura, professor of political science; chair, Program in Chicana/o Studies.

Gary Segura

Thomas C. Südhof, the Avram Goldstein Professor in the School of Medicine; professor of molecular and cellular physiology; investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

Thomas Sudhof

Philip G. Zimbardo, professor emeritus of psychology.

Philip Zimbardo