Neurobiologist Eric Knudsen selected for Lashley Award

Eric Knudsen

The American Philosophical Association has selected Eric Knudsen, PhD, for its annual Karl Spencer Lashley Award, in recognition of work advancing the integrative neuroscience of behavior. Knudsen is the Edward C. and Amy H. Sewall Professor of neurobiology.

Formed in 1743, the APA was the United States' first learned society. Over the course of the past century, more than 200 members of the 900-member organization have received the Nobel Prize. As a recipient of the Lashley award, Knudsen joins some of the world's most distinguished neurobiologists of the past half-century. He is believed to be the first member of the medical school faculty to receive the $20,000 honor, which was established in 1957 by Lashley, a distinguished neuroscientist and neuropsychologist in his own right.

Knudsen's laboratory studies neural mechanisms of learning and attention, using the barn owl as a model system. He and his colleagues examine—at the level of single cells, circuits or networks of cells and animal behavior—the influence of experience on biochemical, anatomical and functional mechanisms of learning and attention.