Annual awards presented June 10 for outstanding teaching and patient care

Andrew Connolly

Maurice Druzin

Kay Daniels

Neil Gesundheit

Lars Osterberg

Peter Pompei

Abraham Verghese

Tim Stearns

Faculty and students received annual awards recognizing their dedication to excellence in graduate and medical education, patient care and teaching at a reception on June 10. These awards were also announced at the medical school's June 13 commencement.

Andrew Connolly, MD, PhD, associate professor of pathology, is the recipient of the Lawrence H. Mathers Award for Exceptional Commitment to Teaching and Active Involvement in Medical Student Education. The award, which was created in memory of the late Lawrence Mathers, MD, PhD, professor of pediatrics and of surgery, recognizes an individual who exemplifies the values and accomplishments of Mathers' work and life.

Maurice Druzin, MD, the Charles B. and Ann L. Johnson Professor in the School of Medicine, is the recipient of the Franklin G. Ebaugh Jr. Award for Advising Medical Students, which recognizes dedication to service. The award honors the late Ebaugh, MD, longtime associate dean for veterans affairs and chief of staff at the VA hospital. Recipients are chosen by medical students and full-time faculty members.

The Arthur L. Bloomfield Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Clinical Medicine goes to three recipients: James Baxter, MD, clerkship director, general internal medicine; Andrew Nevins, MD, clinical assistant professor of infectious diseases; and Douglas Fredrick, MD, clinical professor of ophthalmology. The award, voted on by students in clinical training, commemorates the late Arthur L. Bloomfield, MD, chair of the Department of Medicine from 1926 to 1954.

Three longtime awards created by the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation are given each year for excellence in medical education and in clinical and preclinical teaching. Kay Daniels, MD, clinical associate professor of obstetrics & gynecology, and Steven Lipman, MD, clinical assistant professor of anesthesia, are the recipients of the Kaiser Family Foundation Award for Outstanding and Innovative Contributions to Medical Education.

The Kaiser Foundation Award for Excellence in Preclinical Teaching was chosen by students in preclinical medicine. This year's winners are Preetha Basaviah, MD, clinical associate professor of medicine; Martin Bronk, MD; adjunct clinical associate professor of surgery; and Neil Gesundheit, MD, MPH, associate professor of medicine.

The Kaiser Foundation Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching was given to three faculty members: Lars Osterberg, MD, MPH, clinical associate professor of medicine; Peter Pompei, MD, associate professor of general internal medicine; and Abraham Verghese, MD, professor of medicine.

Tim Stearns, PhD, professor of biology and of genetics, received the School of Medicine Award for Graduate Teaching, which recognizes teaching excellence and exceptional impact in the graduate classroom as well as honoring outstanding service on behalf of medical school graduate students. Recipients of this award are chosen by medical faculty and MS and PhD students.

W. James Nelson, PhD, the Rudy J. and Daphne Donohue Munzer Professor, received the award for Outstanding Service to Graduate Students, voted on by graduating MS and PhD students and by the medical faculty.

Medical student Yueyi Irene Liu, MD, PhD, is the recipient of the Norman Blank Award, given by the Department of Radiology in recognition of outstanding performance in radiology or radiology research. The award honors the late Norman Blank, MD, longtime faculty member and director of admissions. Liu was chosen for her enthusiasm, intelligence, organization and sincere interest in radiology. She also completed and presented numerous research projects, including the creation of a Bayesian network to determine the probability of malignancy on ultrasound scans of thyroid nodules.