Four dedicated employees honored with university's highest staff award

With 30 more nominees than last year to consider, the committee that decides who wins the annual Amy J. Blue Awards picked four honorees instead of a traditional trio. In its 17th year, the award honors university staff who are exceptionally dedicated, supportive of their colleagues and passionate about their work. Amy Blue was a much-loved staff member who last served as associate vice president for administrative services and facilities before she died in 1988.

This year's honorees are Michael Halaas, director of public web services in the School of Medicine's Information Resources and Technology (IRT) group; Audrene Hill-Henson, Student Housing's lead custodian at Lagunita Court; Kristin Miscavage, institutional research analyst in the Office of the University Registrar; and Lisa Pereira, administrative assistant to biological sciences faculty members Robert Sapolsky, Bill Burkholder and Guowei Fang.

A committee comprising past Amy Blue winners, faculty and other staff received 470 nominations for 192 candidates. The awards ceremony will be held Tuesday, May 15, from 3:30 to 5 p.m. in Lagunita Court's central courtyard.