Nominations are sought for Roland Prize

Letters of nomination are sought for the 2008 Miriam Aaron Roland Volunteer Service Prize, which recognizes faculty who integrate scholarship and community service. Presented by the Haas Center for Public Service, a $5,000 cash prize is awarded to faculty members who engage and involve students in coupling academic scholarship and significant volunteer service. Nominations are due to the Haas Center by 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 1, 2008.

Only faculty and students may submit nominations, and candidates must be full-time members of the Academic Council, senior lecturers, Medical School-line faculty members or clinical educators. A selection committee will first evaluate a candidate's personal commitment to service and record of involving students in volunteer work.

Committee members, appointed by the deans of all schools, also will consider the extent to which a nominee has developed innovative approaches to integrating academic scholarship and volunteerism; the nominee's record of research and teaching that involves students in service; and the significance of the nominee's contributions.

In keeping with the Haas Center's own inclusive definition of public service, the Roland Prize recognizes faculty doing exemplary work at the community level, in nonprofits and nongovernmental organizations and/or in government service or philanthropy—either domestically or internationally.

Nomination letters must be accompanied by three letters of support—but no more than three—and no self-nominations will be accepted. Letters also should indicate the relationship between the writer and the nominee, and all submissions should be sent to the Roland Prize selection committee at the Haas Center, 562 Salvatierra Walk, mail code 8620.

E-mail submissions followed by the signed originals may be submitted to Jackie Schmidt-Posner, interim managing director of the Haas Center, at Winners will be chosen at around the start of the spring quarter.

The prize was established in 2004 by alumna Miriam Roland (international relations, '51) of Montreal, Canada, through an endowment at the Haas Center. Last year's winners were Professors Terry Karl (political science) and James Patell (business), who split the $5,000 prize and were honored in May at the annual Community Partnership Awards Luncheon, co-hosted by the Haas Center and Stanford's Office of Public Affairs.