Hoover Institution is awarded the National Humanities Medal

Paul Morse Hoover medal ceremony

President George W. Bush and First Lady Laura Bush stand with the 2006 National Humanities Medal recipients in the Oval Office on Nov. 9. John Raisian, fifth from left, accepted the award on behalf of the Hoover Institution.

The Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace has been awarded the National Humanities Medal, the nation's highest official award in the humanities.

President George W. Bush presented the medal in a private ceremony Nov. 9 at the White House. Institution Director John Raisian accepted it on behalf of the public policy think tank, which is situated on Stanford's campus.

"This is a distinct honor for the Hoover Institution and Stanford University," Raisian said. "We have been honored recently with the awards that were bestowed on Hoover fellows Thomas Sowell and Shelby Steele. To have the medal awarded by the president to the Hoover Institution, as an institution, is a wonderful tribute and a huge source of pride for all of us."

Research Fellow Shelby Steele received the medal in 2004, and Thomas Sowell, the Rose and Milton Friedman Senior Fellow in Public Policy, received the medal in 2002.

The National Humanities Medal, first awarded in 1989 as the Charles Frankel Prize, honors individuals and organizations whose work has deepened the nation's understanding of the humanities, broadened citizens' engagement with the humanities, or helped preserve and expand America's access to important humanities resources.

In recognizing Hoover's contributions, the National Endowment for the Humanities noted in an official statement: "The Hoover Institution became one of the first and most distinguished academic centers in the United States dedicated to public policy research. Today, with its world-renowned group of scholars and ongoing programs of policy-oriented research, the Hoover Institution puts its accumulated knowledge to work as a prominent contributor to the world marketplace of ideas defining a free society."

In addition to the Hoover Institution, the following individuals also received medals:

Fouad Ajami, Middle Eastern studies scholar, Washington, D.C.

James M. Buchanan, economist, Fairfax, Va.

Nickolas Davatzes, historian, Wilton, Conn.

Robert Fagles, translator and classicist, Princeton, N.J.

Mary Lefkowitz, classicist, Wellesley, Mass.

Bernard Lewis, Middle Eastern studies scholar, Princeton, N.J.

Mark Noll, historian of religion, Notre Dame, Ind.

Meryle Secrest, biographer, Washington, D.C.

Kevin Starr, historian, San Francisco, Calif.