Ten recipients of 2003-04 Gores, Dinkelspiel, Cuthbertson awards announced

Three faculty members, four students, two lecturers and one staff member to be honored at Commencement ceremony

A. Gerbasi Gores_Gerbasi.jpg

K. McGonigal


T. Wasow


D. Muir


J. Chen


C. Manning


E. Kwo

Three faculty members, four students, two lecturers and one staff member will be recognized at Commencement on June 13 for their contributions to Stanford with this year's Gores, Dinkelspiel and Cuthbertson awards.

Gores Award

The Walter J. Gores Award, the university's highest teaching honor, will be presented to Giancarlo Aquilanti, a music lecturer and director of the Stanford Wind Ensemble; Jody Maxmin, associate professor of Art and Art History and of Classics; Debra Satz, associate professor of philosophy and director of the Ethics in Society Program; and teaching assistants Alexandra Gerbasi and Kelly McGonigal.

Aquilanti was honored for teaching musical concepts in ways that demystified their complexities and for a broad repertoire of teaching methods that combine written musical examples, audio recordings and piano improvisation. He was also recognized for his leadership as conductor of the Stanford Wind Ensemble, which he led on two successive international tours.

Maxmin was honored for insightful teaching on Greek and Roman art that encouraged students to find parallels in contemporary culture by, for instance, comparing an ancient twisting torso to an ice skater. She was also recognized for having a devotion to the intellectual and personal well-being of her students as she urged them to consider their place in the world while at the university and beyond.

Satz was honored for her intellectual leadership in developing and sustaining the Ethics in Society Program, which encourages deep engagement with cross-disciplinary issues and intellectual cooperation among undergraduates and faculty. She was also recognized for co-founding and teaching in the Hope House Scholars Program, through which incarcerated women and volunteer faculty examine personal experience in the context of ethics, moral philosophy and social justice.

Gerbasi, a doctoral student in sociology, was honored for coaching 50 international relations undergraduates working on theses and providing informed and insightful comments that encouraged a higher level of scholarship. She was also recognized for having an apparently unlimited capacity to answer questions, solve problems and remain, in the words of one of her students, "the most approachable TA ever."

McGonigal, a doctoral student in psychology, was honored for her breadth and depth as an educator, from teaching an introductory psychology course to offering an outreach course at the School of Medicine to co-founding and directing the Women's Wellness Network. She was also recognized for developing innovative course materials that stimulate rigorous thought and critical analysis, as well as encourage collaboration among students.

Dinkelspiel Award

The Lloyd W. Dinkelspiel Award, named after the president of the Board of Trustees who served from 1953 to 1958, is given for distinctive contributions to undergraduate education. This year's recipients are Tom Wasow, professor of linguistics and philosophy; David G. Muir, a lecturer in biological sciences; Elizabeth Ching-Reng Kwo, a senior in human biology; and Jenny P. Chen, a co-terminal student in economics and in management science and engineering.

Wasow was honored for designing and teaching courses that serve as models of intellectual rigor, including introductory courses on syntax, and for teaching and mentoring academic staff, students and faculty. He was also recognized for dedicated service to the university as dean of undergraduate studies, president of the university's Phi Beta Kappa chapter, an undergraduate adviser and chair of the Faculty Senate.

Muir was honored for years of invaluable service to students and faculty as coordinator of the biological sciences core courses and for superb administrative, scientific and pedagogic skills. He was also recognized for mentoring and training teaching assistants.

Ching-Reng Kwo was honored for her passion and commitment to social change and for her courage in traveling outside her homeland to serve others. She was also recognized for her vision and perseverance that led to the establishment of the Nepal Clinical Internship, giving Stanford students the opportunity to experience the medical problems confronting that country and to provide aid and support to hundreds of Nepalese families and children.

Chen was honored for her work as a mentor and adviser to many students and for her dedication to the Stanford Project on Hunger. She was also recognized for her leadership, teaching and organizational skills that led to the founding of the Stanford Figure Skating Club, a first-place intercollegiate team.

Cuthbertson Award

The Kenneth M. Cuthbertson Award, named after the first recipient of the honor in 1981, recognizes exceptional contributions to the university. The 2004 award will be presented to Carolyn Manning, vice president of the Stanford Alumni Association.

Manning was honored for her extraordinary skills in planning important university events, including the centennial celebrations, four international alumni centennial conferences and the inauguration of President John Hennessy. She was also recognized for helping integrate the Alumni Association into the university and for helping create minority alumni programs.