Stanford University Home

Stanford News Archive

Stanford Report, September 24, 2003

Zare named 2003 Hoagland Prize winner

Richard N. Zare, the Marguerite Blake Wilbur Professor in Natural Science, is this year's recipient of the Laurance and Naomi Carpenter Hoagland Prize for excellence in undergraduate education. Sharon Long, dean of the School of Humanities and Sciences, and Vice Provost John Bravman presented the award during Convocation on Sept. 18.

In her introductory remarks, Long congratulated Zare for winning the university's most prestigious undergraduate teaching prize.

"Last June, before leaving for the summer, undergraduates from frosh to seniors nominated over 60 faculty members for the Hoagland Prize," she noted. "Students filled pages and pages with thoughtful and eloquent praise for their professors."

Long read excerpts from several student letters praising Zare for his warmth, humor and enthusiasm.

"Professor Zare's class was an incredibly intellectually awakening experience," wrote one.

"What I will remember most is how much he really cares about each individual student," wrote another.

A member of the chemistry faculty since 1977, Zare is the recipient of numerous other awards, including the 1987 Dean's Award for Excellence in Teaching and the 1996 Bing Fellowship teaching award.

The Hoagland Prize was established in 1987 by Laurie and Gay Hoagland in appreciation of the undergraduate educations that generations of the Hoagland family have received at Stanford. The prize celebrates faculty commitment to undergraduate teaching and carries a monetary award as well as a matching grant for the winner's department. The winner is chosen by the vice provost in consultation with his undergraduate advisory committee. A gallery of photographs and citations for all the Hoagland Prize winners is located on the first floor of Sweet Hall.