Stanford University Home

Stanford News Archive

Stanford Report, November 5, 2003

Five professors join the ranks of noted science fellows


Five Stanford University professors are among 348 newly elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world's largest federation of scientists.

Eve Clark, James Collman, Russell Fernald, Harry Greenberg and W. E. Moerner were chosen "because of their efforts to advance science or applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished," according to a statement by the AAAS Office of Public Programs in Washington, D.C. New fellows will be presented with a certificate and a pin on Feb. 14, 2004, during the AAAS annual meeting in Seattle.

Eve V. Clark, professor of linguistics, was selected for outstanding contributions to the field of child language acquisition through groundbreaking research, conference organization and the development of vital research tools.

James P. Collman, the George A. and Hilda M. Daubert Professor of Chemistry, was honored for significant contributions to the basic understanding of transition metal-based catalysis in organic and biochemical systems.

Russell D. Fernald, the Benjamin Scott Crocker Professor of Human Biology in the Department of Psychology, was chosen for distinguished service as a master teacher of animal behavior and human biology, and as an investigator of vision and the neural and neuroendocrine bases of behavior.

Harry B. Greenberg, the Joseph D. Grant Professor in the School of Medicine, was elected for fundamental studies of the biology of human viruses, particularly for studies of immunity to and pathogenesis of rotaviruses.

W. E. Moerner, the Harry S. Mosher Professor in the Department of Chemistry, was singled out for pioneering developments that launched the field of single molecular spectroscopy and for its application to crystals, polymers and biomolecules.

Founded in 1848, AAAS works to advance science for human well-being through its projects, programs and publications, including the journal Science. The tradition of AAAS fellows began in 1874.


Eve Clark

James Collman

Russell Fernald

Harry Greenberg

W. E. Moerner