Stanford University Home

Stanford News Archive

Stanford Report, June 4, 2003

Faculty, students, staff honored with major university awards

Five faculty members, four students and a staff member will be recognized at Commencement on June 15 for their contributions to Stanford with this year's Gores, Dinkelspiel and Cuthbertson awards.

Gores awards for excellence in teaching

The Walter J. Gores Award, the university's highest teaching honor, will be presented to Louis Patrick Halamek, associate professor of pediatrics at Lucile Packard Children's Hospital; Mark Applebaum, assistant professor of music; and teaching assistants Andrew Dean Ho and Wendelin Jane Wright.

Halamek was recognized for outstanding teaching of medical students, interns, nurses and residents and for developing innovative medical training programs, such as Neonatal Resuscitation in the Simulated Delivery Room (NeoSim), and creating the Center for Advanced Pediatric Education (CAPE), the world's first simulation-based training facility dedicated to the care of children and pregnant women.

Applebaum was honored for teaching that has challenged students to reach beyond their comfort zones: encouraging classically trained musicians to create digital music and composers to make their own instruments. He also was recognized for his diverse interests and for -- in the words of one of his students -- "embodying what all Stanford professors should strive to be."

Ho, a doctoral student in education, was honored for using his understanding of statistics and mathematics to make the subjects accessible and enjoyable for students. He also was recognized for developing course materials that use data sets, such as national education assessments, that are relevant to students' lives.

Wright, a doctoral student in materials science and engineering, was given the award for her teaching talents and for helping students strengthen their skills in scientific inquiry. She also was cited for her work as a mentor and for her intellectual passion that has inspired faculty and students.

Dinkelspiel awards for distinctive contributions to undergraduate education

The Lloyd W. Dinkelspiel Award, named after the president of the Board of Trustees who served from 1953 to 1958, is given for distinctive contributions to undergraduate education. This year's recipients are T. Daniel P. Stack, associate professor of chemistry; Donald A. Barr, associate professor (teaching) of sociology; and students Meredith Lauren King, a senior majoring in feminist studies with a minor in drama; and Amanda Elsa Rang, a senior in American studies with a minor in Asian American studies.

Stack was honored for his creativity in the design of a successful outreach program for introductory chemistry courses and for mentoring teaching assistants. Furthermore, he was recognized for his leadership in improving undergraduate research programs and supporting the Writing in the Major Program in chemistry.

Barr was honored for his commitment to Community Working Group Inc., which is building a center for homeless people in the Stanford area. He also was cited for creating the Curriculum in Health Policy and for fostering student learning about health issues through the establishment of a community health program.

King was honored for her commitment to public service, social change and women's rights and for her efforts to improve the quality of life for African American women on campus. She also was recognized for her senior thesis, Sister Voices: Organizing Black Women Through Feminist Theater, which explored the potential of theater to promote social change.

Rang played a key role in initiating new classes that address Hawaiian history and language, and Hapa (mixed ancestry) issues and identity. She helped establish the Hapa Issues Forum and created a supportive environment for Hawaiian, Hapa and Filipino students on campus.

Cuthbertson awards for contributions to Stanford

The Kenneth M. Cuthbertson Award, named after the first recipient of the honor in 1981, recognizes exceptional contributions to the university. The 2003 awards will be presented to University Archivist Margaret J. Kimball and mechanical engineering Professor Charles J. Kruger, vice provost and dean of research and graduate policy.

Kimball has spent 20 years researching and sharing the university's history. She was honored for her prodigious knowledge of and great love for her alma mater, for helping researchers and for embracing countless special projects. She is regarded as one of the university's most-loved student advisers.

For more than 40 years, Kruger has worked in a range of faculty positions. He was recognized for his leadership in implementing effective programs that support the university's research mission while maintaining his own teaching and research program. Kruger also was honored for his stewardship of sponsored research and technology licensing at a difficult time and for pioneering ways to support faculty and student research.



Louis Halamek

Mark Applebaum

Andrew Ho

Wendelin Wright

T. Daniel P. Stack

Donald Barr

Meredith King

Amanda Rang

Margaret Kimball

Charles Kruger