Stanford University Home

Stanford News Archive

Stanford Report, December 3, 2003

This year, two win the Marsh O'Neill Award

It's always tough for the committee that selects recipients for the annual Marsh O'Neill Award to pick just one winner out of the multiple nominations it considers. But this year, it proved to be impossible.

The 2003 award, which recognizes staff for making an exceptional and enduring contribution to Stanford's research enterprise, was presented to two individuals: Robin Holbrook, administrative services manager at Baxter Laboratory, and Nan Phinney, a physicist at the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center.

Plaques were presented to Holbrook and Phinney at a reception on Nov. 18 held at Tresidder Union. A $3,000 cash prize accompanies the award. It was inspired by the career of Marsh O'Neill, associate director of the W. W. Hansen Laboratories from 1952 to 1990, the award's first recipient.