Stanford University Home

Stanford News Archive

Stanford Report, June 5, 2002

Honors and Awards

William H. Beaver, the Joan E. Horngren Professor of Accounting, was awarded an honorary doctorate from Athens University of Economics and Business at a May 14 ceremony in Athens. It was the second time in the school's history an honorary doctorate was awarded. It recognizes Beaver's research contribution to the understanding of the relationship between financial statement data and capital markets.

John I. Brauman, the J. G. Jackson and C. J. Wood Professor of Chemistry, is the 36th recipient of the Linus Pauling Award presented annually by the Oregon, Portland and Puget Sound Sections of the American Chemical Society. The award honors Nobel laureate Linus Pauling -- a former Stanford faculty member and native of the Pacific Northwest. Brauman was recognized for contributions to chemistry of national and international significance. His research focuses on how molecules react and the factors that determine the rates and products of chemical reactions. A public symposium and banquet will be held in his honor at Pacific Lutheran University in Tacoma, Wash., next fall. Brauman is the sixth Stanford faculty member -- including Pauling -- to receive the award.

Bradley Efron, the Max H. Stein Professor and professor of statistics and of health research and policy, and Donald Knuth, the Fletcher Jones Professor of Computer Science, Emeritus, will be awarded honorary doctorates from the University of Oslo this September. The awards are the beginning of a celebration in honor of the 200th anniversary of the birth of mathematician Niels Henrick Abel. The University of Oslo, Abel's alma mater, will mark its Foundation Day 2002 with the creation of 10 honorary doctoral degrees dedicated to Abel's memory. In addition to the honorary degrees, the Norwegian government will establish an Abel Prize in mathematics with an initial endowment of 200 million Norwegian kroner (about $25 million) in hopes of creating a prize for mathematics with the same dimension and importance as the Nobel Prizes.

Stephen E. Harris, the Kenneth and Barbara Oshman Professor in the School of Engineering and professor of applied physics, has been awarded the 2002 Arthur L. Schawlow Prize in Laser Science by the American Physical Society (APS). At an APS meeting in October, the prize will be presented to Harris "for outstanding contributions to fundamental and applied research into laser sources, nonlinear optics, extreme ultraviolet laser sources and laser physics, including electromagnetically induced transparency and its application to lasing without inversion and to nonlinear optics at maximal coherence."

Bradford W. Parkinson, the Edward C. Wells Professor in the School of Engineering, Emeritus, is recipient of the Simon Ramo Medal, awarded by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and sponsored by TRW Foundation in recognition of significant achievement in systems engineering and systems science. Parkinson was cited "for leading the concept development and the reduction to practice the satellite-based, worldwide navigation system known as the global positioning system (GPS)." He will accept the award, which consists of a gold medal, bronze replica, certificate and cash honorarium, at the annual IEEE Honors Ceremony in Toronto on June 22.

John Ross, the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Professor of Chemistry, Emeritus, was awarded the Austrian Cross of Honor for Science and the Arts, First Class -- the highest honor given by the Austrian government to a private citizen. The Austrian minister of education, science and culture presented the award at a ceremony in Vienna on May 7 in recognition of Ross' pioneering work in understanding the nature and mechanism of action of complex systems. Ross also received the National Medal of Science from President Clinton in 2000.

Charles Taylor, assistant professor of mechanical engineering and of surgery, has been selected to receive the Young Investigator in Computational Mechanics Award from the International Association for Computational Mechanics (IACM). The award is given only once every four years and recognizes "outstanding accomplishments, particularly outstanding published papers, by researchers 40 or younger." Taylor, who directs the Cardiovascular Biomechanics Research Laboratory, will receive the award at the IACM World Congress in Vienna in July.