Stanford University Home

Stanford News Archive

Stanford Report, October 3, 2001

Other Nobel connections to the Farm

Eric A. Cornell and Carl E. Wieman shared the 2001 physics prize with Wolfgang Ketterle "for creating Bose-Einstein condensation using laser cooling and evaporation techniques." Cornell, a senior scientist at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and professor adjoint at the University of Colorado-Boulder, received his bachelor’s degree in physics from Stanford in 1985. Wieman, a physics professor at the University of Colorado-Boulder, received his doctorate from Stanford in 1977.

K. Barry Sharpless, chemistry (2001), earned a Stanford degree: Ph.D. '68 in chemistry. The Scripps Research Institute professor was cited "for his work on chirally catalysed oxidation reactions."

Herbert L. Abrams, professor emeritus of radiology, is co-founder (1980) and member of International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War; the organization won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1985.

John C. Harsanyi, economic sciences (1994), earned a Stanford degree: Ph.D. '59 in economics. The University of California-Berkeley professor was cited with John F. Nash and Reinhard Selten "for their pioneering analysis of equilibria in the theory of non-cooperative games." Harsanyi died Aug. 9, 2000.

Dudley Herschbach, chemistry (1986), holds two Stanford degrees: B.S. '54 in mathematics and M.S. '55 in chemistry. The Harvard professor was cited with Yuan T. Lee and John C. Polanyi "for their contributions concerning the dynamics of chemical elementary processes."

Willis E. Lamb Jr., physics (1955), was a professor at Stanford at the time of his award; he left for Oxford University in 1956. Currently professor of physics at the University of Arizona, Tucson, Lamb was cited "for his discoveries concerning the fine structure of the hydrogen spectrum." At Stanford 1951-56; Oxford 1956-62; Yale 1962-74; Arizona 1974-present.

Joshua Lederberg, physiology/medicine (1958), of the University of Wisconsin, Madison, at the time of his award, was later chair of genetics at Stanford for several years. Now president emeritus and professor at Rockefeller University, Lederberg shared the 1958 prize with two professors who left Stanford before they became Nobelists: George Beadle and Edward Tatum. Lederberg was cited "for his discoveries concerning genetic recombination and the organization of the genetic material of bacteria." Beadle and Tatum were cited "for their discovery that genes act by regulating definite chemical events."

Beadle: At Stanford 1937-47; Caltech, 1947-61; Chicago, 1961-75; died 1989.

Lederberg: At Stanford 1959-78; Rockefeller University, 1978-present.

Tatum: At Stanford 1937-45 and 1948-57; Yale, 1945-48; Rockefeller Institute, 1957-75; died 1975.

Ferid Murad, physiology/medicine (1998), of the University of Texas Medical School at Houston, is a former professor of medicine at Stanford. He was cited with Robert F. Furchgott and Louis J. Ignarro "for their discoveries concerning nitric oxide as a signalling molecule in the cardiovascular system." Murad was affiliated with the University of Virginia, 1975-81; Stanford, 1981-89; Abbott Laboratories, 1990-92; Molecular Geriatrics Corp., 1993-95; University of Texas Medical School, 1996-present.

Melvin Schwartz, physics (1988), was a consulting professor at Stanford at the time of his award; he was a faculty member from 1966 to 1983. He shared the award with Leon M. Lederman and Jack Steinberger "for the neutrino beam method and the demonstration of the doublet structure of the leptons through the discovery of the muon neutrino." At Digital Pathways, Mountain View, Calif., 1983-91; Columbia, 1991-present.