Stanford Report Online

Stanford Report, June 13, 2001
Recipients of Dinkelspiel, Gores, Cuthbertson awards named

Faculty, students and staff are being honored for their teaching and other contributions to the university with this year's Dinkelspiel, Gores and Cuthbertson awards.

Dinkelspiel awards

The Lloyd W. Dinkelspiel Awards are given annually for distinctive contributions to undergraduate education. This year's recipients are Paul Turner, the Paul L. and Phyllis Wattis Professor of Art; Cheryl Ross, associate director of the Introduction to the Humanities program; and students Audrey B. Chang, a senior majoring in Earth systems, and Christopher J. Thompson, a senior majoring in electrical engineering and a co-terminal student in civil and environmental engineering.

Turner, who has taught at Stanford since 1971, was commended in an award citation for "his inspiring teaching, demanding academic standards, and elegant and original lectures." He also was praised for his efforts to help renovate Hanna House, Stanford's Frank Lloyd Wright building that dates back to the 1930s, and "for leadership in creating a greater understanding of American campus architecture in general."

Ross was recognized for her work with the Introduction to the Humanities program, or IHUM. Her citation pointed out her support for faculty and postdoctoral fellows who teach in IHUM and highlighted "her pedagogical insights, her talent as a teacher and her knowledge of the classroom." She earned kudos "for using passion, imagination and determination to ensure a high-quality educational experience."

Chang stood out because of her passion for environmental activism and education. She was cited for her work on the Earth Systems Student Advising Program and the Green Building initiative, and for "her ability to foster environmental awareness and conservation in student residences."

Thompson received praise for leading the residential education program in Roble Hall, "where he served as a role model for fellow staff and students"; for being a head house host during Stanford Admit Weekend; and "for sharing his intelligence, maturity, energy and commitment to liberal arts learning."

Gores awards

The Walter J. Gores Awards recognize excellence in teaching. Two professors and one graduate student are being honored: Deborah Gordon, associate professor of biological sciences; Robert Reich, assistant professor of political science; and Joshua Sabloff, doctoral candidate in the Department of Mathematics, who has served as a teaching assistant.

Gordon, an expert on ant behavior, earned her award "for dynamic and devoted teaching and for clear, well-organized and thought-provoking lectures that encourage independent thinking." A professor at Stanford since 1991, Gordon was cited for her top-notch advising and for sharing "her love of field biology and her fascination with the study of ant colonies."

Reich, who holds a Stanford doctorate in education, teaches in both the Department of Political Science and the Ethics in Society program, and has founded the Stanford Summer Philosophy Discovery Institute, an academic program for high school students. In his third year as a professor at Stanford, Reich garnered praise "for teaching ethics with a passion that awakens students to moral decision-making." Reich was described as an "extraordinarily devoted, ongoing and thoughtful" mentor to undergraduates.

Sabloff was called "a kind, attentive and highly responsive teacher who recognizes the widely varying mathematical skills of individual students." The doctoral student's respect for teaching has motivated colleagues in the Mathematics Department to strive toward "teaching excellence," the citation said.

Cuthbertson Award

The Kenneth M. Cuthbertson Award, created in 1981, recognizes exceptional contributions to Stanford and is open to all members of the university community. This year, Margaret Ann Fidler, associate vice provost for administration in the Office of the Vice Provost for Student Affairs, and John Ford, vice president for development in the Office of Development, were chosen for this distinction.

After 30 years of service to Stanford, Fidler was described as "a role model, discharging her administrative duties with extraordinary integrity, professionalism, skill and respect for others." Her work in chairing the University Management Group earned high regard, as did her "early and highly effective support of child care."

Ford, a 24-year veteran of Stanford, was cited for "setting and achieving sustained, record-setting fundraising goals that are acutely sensitive to the university's academic priorities." The citation also praised Ford's "clear vision, leadership and high ethical standards." These qualities also were evident in Ford's mentor, Ken Cuthbertson, vice president for development until his 1977 retirement and for whom the award is named.

Nominations for all the awards were submitted to President John Hennessy in May, and he notified the recipients at a reception on June 1. They will be formally presented with their awards at Commencement.