Stanford University Home

Stanford News Archive

Stanford Report, May 31, 2000

Boothe Prizes for Excellence in Writing awarded

The 2000 Boothe Prizes for Excellence in Writing were awarded May 9 to honor the authors of outstanding essays from Writing and Critical Thinking and Introduction to the Humanities courses. For Writing and Critical Thinking, the award-winning essayists were Barry Wark, Sarah Huntwork and Joshua Benson. Honorable mention papers were authored by Woojin Kim, Arielle Reinstein and Melinda Munos. For Introduction to the Humanities, prizes were awarded to Matthew Neeley, Andrew Friedman and Marissa Pareles. Honorable mention went to Abigail Dean, Adaline Strumolo, Andrea Haslanger and Jeffrey Davidson. Each winner received a copy of The Riverside Shakespeare, the Bard's collected works, and a cash prize. The awards were endowed by the generosity of Catie and the late D. Power "Pod" Boothe Jr. SR