Stanford University Home

Stanford News Archive

Stanford Report, May 10, 2000

OTL Research Incentive Fund Awards for 1999-2000

With funds gained from the royalties on Stanford licenses and patents, seed grants totaling $554,933 have been awarded to 25 Stanford researchers or research teams, Dean of Research Charles Kruger announced last month.

Projects winning OTL (Office of Technology Licensing) Research Incentive Fund awards were chosen from a field of 95 grant proposals by a committee of faculty nominated by the deans of the schools and previous awardees. Most of the grants were to promising projects in the startup phase -- in which researchers test ideas that may later qualify for major grants from government or industry -- not necessarily for patenting purposes.

Related Information:

This year proposals also were solicited from teams of faculty who were interested in initiating interdisciplinary research projects, which were eligible for a higher level of funding.

Announcements for the annual award program usually are mailed in October, with an application deadline in November.

The following projects were selected for Reseach Incentive Fund seed grants ranging from $5,000 to $39,000:

David Bloom, professor of electrical engineering: "Membrane Proteins in Microfabricated Silicon Structures."

Brendan Bohannan, assistant professor of biological sciences: "Response of Bacterial Communities to Elevated Atmospheric Carbon Dioxide."

Paulla Ebron, assistant professor of cultural and social anthropology: "Making Tropical Africa in the Georgia Sea Islands."

R. S. Feigelson, professor of materials science and engineering: "Study of the Growth of Single Crystal Ribbons of Gallium Nitride."

Dean Felsher, assistant professor of oncology: "Determining How MYC Maintains Turmorigenic Phenotype."

Deborah Gordon, associate professor of biological sciences: "Genetic Analysis of Colony Relatedness in Harvester Ants."

Umran Inan, professor of electrical engineering: "Design of a Color Plasma Display Panel with Optimal Luminous Efficiency."

Simon Jackman, assistant professor of political science: "The New Political Methodology."

Daniel Kim, assistant professor of neurosurgery: "Development of a Computerized 3D Image Guided Endoscopic Prototype for Use in Spinal Neurosurgery."

Matthew Kohrman, assistant professor of cultural and social anthropology: "Modernity and the Chinese Male Life Course: Consuming Cigarettes and Oncological Services."

Eric Kool, professor of chemistry, "Expanded DNA."

Jan Krawitz, professor of communication, "Fast Forward" (working title of proposed 16mm documentary film).

Peter Lee, assistant professor of hematology, "Analysis and Manipulation of the T Cell Response to Cancer."

Laura Lowes, assistant professor of civil and environmental engineering, "Fiber Optic Sensors for Model-Based Simulation and Health Monitoring of Civil Structures."

Kathryn Moler, assistant professor of applied physics, and co-principal investigator Thomas Kenny, assistant professor of mechanical engineering, "GaAs Sensors for Simultaneous Atomic Force and Hall Microscopy" (interdisciplinary research project).

David McKay, professor of structural biology, "Initiative in Structural Genomics."

Adina Paytan, assistant professor of geological and environmental sciences, "Calcium Isotopes in Corals: Investigating a New Paleo-Thermometer."

Tobias Plebuch, assistant professor of music, "Data Mapping of Music Subscribers of the Late 18th Century in Europe."

Balaji Prabhakar, assistant professor of electrical engineering, "Some Key Algorithmic and Architectural Issues in the Internet."

Mary Roberts, associate professor of history, "Great Performers: The New Woman, Journalism and Theater in Fin-de-siècle France."

Gary Schoolnik, professor of infectious diseases, and co-principal investigators Alfred Spormann, assistant professor of civil and environmental engineering; Craig Criddle, associate professor of civil and environmental engineering; and Peter Karp, consulting assistant professor of medical informatics, "Microarray Transcription Profiling of Vibrio Cholerae O1 Biofilm Development and Adaptation" (interdisciplinary research project).

Olav Solgaard, assistant professor of electrical engineering, "Micromechanical Diffractive Optical Elements for Correlation Spectroscopy in Biomedical Applications."

Charles Taylor, assistant professor of surgery, "Quantitative Assessment of Angiogenesis on Coronary Artery Blood Flow."

Paul Utz, assistant professor of immunology and rheumatology, "Alternative RNA Splicing of Apoptosis Regulatory Molecules Governs Cell Death."

Ronald Weigel, associate professor of surgery, "Estradiol-Responsive Genes as Tumor Markers to Predict Hormone Responsiveness of Breast Tumors."

The review committee was chaired by Edward S. Mocarski, associate dean of research, and included the following members: Dan Boneh, computer science; Michael Cleary, pathology; Reiner Dauskardt, materials science and engineering; John Eaton, mechanical engineering; Penelope Eckert, linguistics; James Ferrell, molecular pharmacology; Andy Hoffman, endocrinology/gerontology; Aaron Hsueh, gynecology and obstetrics; Charles Kruger, mechanical engineering; Don Lowe, geological and environmental sciences; Stephen Monismith, civil and environmental engineering; Krishna Saraswat, electrical engineering; Ramin Shahidi, neurosurgery; Paul Sniderman, political science; Frank Stockdale, oncology; Ravi Tolwani, comparative medicine; Brian Wandell, psychology; Tom Wasow, linguistics; Paul Wender, chemistry; and Charles Yanofsky, biological sciences. SR