Stanford University Home

Stanford News Archive

Stanford Report, June 14, 2000

Graduate students honored with TA awards

Thirty-three graduate students in the schools of Humanities and Sciences, Engineering, and Earth Sciences received Centennial Teaching Assistant Awards on Saturday, June 10. The award program was initiated in 1989 by then Humanities and Sciences Dean Ewart Thomas to recognize the vital role that teaching assistants play in teaching and learning at Stanford. The TAs each receive a certificate and a $500 prize.

The outstanding teaching assistants, who were chosen by their departments, follow:

School of Humanities and Sciences

Puneet Batra, physics; Alison J. Bianchi, sociology; Rebecca A. Bill, political science; Matthew Burtner, music; Elaine S. Coburn, sociology;

Anne Q. Eakin, Slavic languages and literatures; Anne O. Eisbach, psychology; Rebecca Gertmenian, art and art history; Mikkel B. Hansen, psychology; Bao-Jun Jiang, physics;

Joel M. Karty, chemistry; Steven Kelts, political science; Tirza T. Latimer, art and art history; B. Venkat Mani, German studies; Simon James Peter May, philosophy;

Kerry R. McCarthy, music; Heather J. Myers, psychology; Emily Osborn, history; Lynn Ellen Patyk, Slavic languages and literatures; Michele D. Ricci, German studies; Mallory S. Roberts, physics;

Lise Sedrez, history; Konrad Siewierski, political science; Heidi A. Sivers, psychology; Michelle M. Stohlmeyer, chemistry; Manuel Rogelio Vargas, philosophy; and Lee R. Wright, chemistry.

School of Earth Sciences

Gordon Holtgrieve, earth systems, and Patrick Redmond, geological and environmental systems.

School of Engineering

Carlos Guestrin, computer science; Albert Honein, mechanical engineering; Isaac Lee, chemical engineering; and Aaron James "A.J." Simon, mechanical engineering. SR