Stanford University Home

Stanford News Archive

Stanford Report, April 5, 2000

Stanford and Packard hospital boards named  

University President Gerhard Casper has announced the membership of the new boards for Stanford and Lucile Packard Children's hospitals. Denise O'Leary, a University trustee, will chair Stanford's board, while John Lillie, president of Sequoia Associates in Menlo Park, will serve as the chair of Packard's board.

In addition to O'Leary and Lillie, the following individuals will serve on both boards: Eugene Bauer, MD, vice president for Stanford University Medical Center and dean of the School of Medicine; Malinda Mitchell, chief executive officer of Stanford Hospital and Clinics; Christopher Dawes, chief executive officer of Lucile Packard Children's Hospital; Peter Gregory, MD, chief medical officer of Adult Services; Kenneth Cox, MD, chief medical officer of Children's Services; Woodrow Myers, MD; Susan Orr, a University trustee and president of the Technology Resource Assistance Center in Palo Alto; Isaac Stein, MD, a University trustee and former chair of the board of UCSF Stanford Health Care; and the new dean of the School of Medicine, who has yet to be named.

The following people will also serve on Stanford's board: Peter Bing, MD, formerly a member of the board of Stanford Health Services (SHS); John Scully, managing director of SPO Partners and a former member of the board of SHS; Robert Halperin, past vice chair of Raychem Corp. in Menlo Park; Marianne Byerwalter, chief financial officer for Stanford University; and Richard Hoppe, MD, Stanford professor of radiation oncology.

The following individuals will serve on Packard's board: Anne Bass; Harvey Cohen, MD, professor and chair of pediatrics; and Philip Lee, MD, consulting professor of human biology at Stanford and a professor emeritus with the Institute of Health Policy Studies at UCSF. SR