Stanford University Home

Stanford News Archive

Stanford Report, June 17, 1998

GSB graduates 425 in outdoor ceremony: 6/98

Business School graduates 425 in outdoor ceremony


Blessed by blue skies and a blazing economy, 370 men and women were awarded MBA degrees by the Stanford Graduate School of Business in an outdoor ceremony at Frost Amphitheater June 14.

Among them were 11 who earned the joint JD/MBA degree from both the Business School and the School of Law; 18 who completed special coursework to earn the certificate in Public Management; and 36 who earned the Global Management certificate.

Related Information:

The Business School also awarded nine doctoral degrees, bringing the total number of doctoral degrees in the past year to 19. Additionally, 46 graduates of the School's Sloan Program, a one-year program for middle managers, earned the Master of Science degree.

One of the highlights of each year's commencement is the naming of the top 10 percent of the graduating MBA class, who are designated Arjay Miller Scholars after a former dean of the school. Arjay Miller himself handed out certificates to the 38 scholars (see names below), who were called in alphabetical, rather than grade, order. The only ranking in the class that is made public is that of the top scholar, the Henry Ford II Scholar, who receives a cash award of $5,000 and his or her name engraved on a plaque in the Jackson Library. This year's Henry Ford II Scholar is John D. Linehan, a 1987 graduate of Amherst College. Linehan also was selected by the finance faculty to receive the Alexander A. Robichek Student Achievement Award in Finance.

Adam Fawer, the editor of the MBA student newspaper, the Reporter, was chosen by his classmates to receive the Ernest C. Arbuckle Award, which is given to the second-year student who, by his or her active participation, initiative, leadership and personal integrity, is judged as having contributed most to the fulfillment of the goals of the school, both within the school and in society.

The two words his classmates used most often to describe Fawer were "vision and voice," said Susan Arbuckle, the daughter of the late dean after whom the award is named. In his year as editor, Fawer brought the nonprofit newspaper back from a deficit, involved all segments of a diverse student community in its content and production, and improved the overall quality of the paper to such an extent that it was recently named best student business newspaper by a group of business editors. Despite the need to meet deadlines in class and on the paper, "he was always there to help anyone who needed it," wrote one of his classmates. Fawer is a 1992 graduate of the University of Pennsylvania, where he earned both Bachelor of Science and Master of Arts degrees. Other students nominated for the Arbuckle Award were Jamison Day, Scott Dunlap, Tracey Pettengill and Owen West.

Warned by Dean A. Michael Spence that "these are awfully good times, but I remind you it isn't always like this ­ there are downs as well," the new graduates could be forgiven a temporary euphoria. Job markets for both MBAs and Business School PhDs are the most promising in years.

1998 Arjay Miller Scholars and their undergraduate institutions follow:

Alexandre J. Alfonsi, Ecole Centrale Paris, 1993; Patrick K. Barron, Harvard, 1992; Fred F. Benton, Dartmouth, 1989; Michael J. Burgess, University of New South Wales, 1993 (J.D. 1993); Colm M. Callan, Stanford, 1991; Maximilian U. Cartellieri, London School of Economics, 1993 (M.S. 1994); Marcos A. Clutterbuck, Universidad Catolica Argentina, 1994; Craig W. Collar, U.S. Military Academy, 1992.

David S. Crawford, Rice, 1992 (Stanford, M.S. 1993); Jamison E. Day, Cornell, 1992; Ann-Kristin Ellen de Verdier, Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden) and Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine (U.K.), 1990; Roger A. Detter, Stanford, 1992; Nathaniel Durant, Brown, 1992; Rachel J. Erickson, Yale, 1990; Kevin A. Frick, Michigan, 1994.

Melissa E. Graebner, Stanford, 1993 (M.S. 1996); Rakesh Gupta, GMI Engineering and Management Institute, 1992; Joshua D. Hannah, University of California, 1993; Amanda L. Hashfield, Stanford, 1993; Michael P. Jones, Georgia, 1994; David P. Kennedy, University College Dublin, 1991 (M.B.S. 1992); Peter R. Kenyon, Cambridge, 1989; Andrew L. Kibblewhite, University of Canterbury, 1988, and Victoria University, 1992.

Angelica P. Kwan, University of British Columbia, 1990 (J.D. Harvard); John D. Linehan, Amherst College, 1987; Daniel Lopez, CUNEF-U. Computense Madrid (Spain), 1992; Jason L. Meil, Harvard, 1992; Michael A. Mullany, Harvard, 1992; Jonathan R. Pedley, Cambridge, 1989; Alyssa C. Rieder, Stanford, 1992.

Michael J. Rosenstein, Pennsylvania, 1993; Timothy A. Ryan, University of California, 1992; Cipriano Santisteban, Instituto Tecnologico Autonomo de Mexico, 1992; Craig T. Schorr, Pennsylvania, 1990; Saurabh Srivastava, Birla Institute of Technology and Science (India), 1986 (State University of New York, M.S. 1988); William I. Tsui, Universidad de São Paulo, 1992; David B. Tuckerman, MIT, 1980 (MIT, M.S. 1980; Stanford, Ph.D. 1984); Dale E. West, Texas, 1991. SR