Stanford University Home

Stanford News Archive

Stanford Report, June 18, 1997

Paul Kim wins Sterling Award for volunteer service

Paul Kim of Arcadia, Calif., has won the Stanford Alumni Association's 1997 J.E. Wallace Sterling Award for outstanding volunteer service.

The graduating senior in biological sciences received the award at the annual Senior Class Day luncheon on June 14. Warren R. Lyons '67, JD/MBA '72 and chair of the Alumni Association Board of Directors, announced Kim's selection.

Kim served for two years as director of Alternative Spring Break, an opportunity for Stanford students to work on service projects during the spring vacation. His work was recognized recently at a national Alternative Spring Break conference at which Stanford's program was singled out for its excellence. Kim also served as chair of the Student Advisory Council of the Haas Center for Public Service, and as chair of the Committee on Nominations of the Associated Students of Stanford University (ASSU).

The Sterling Award cited Kim for "his impressive initiatives and instincts as director of the Alternative Spring Break project and his insistence on superior standards that transformed this Stanford endeavor into a national hallmark of community service," and "for often artful, frequently stoic and usually uncelebrated efforts in student government and his significant upgrading of student participation in university governance through his stewardship of the ASSU Committee on Nominations."

The Alumni Association presents the Sterling Award annually to students who have demonstrated dedication to volunteer activities for the university and the community. Book awards - gift certificates redeemable for books of the winner's choice - are presented to finalists. Rene Spicer, coordinator of the awards, said that a very strong field of nominees led to the naming of five book award finalists this year.

The Book Award winners were seniors Brooks Allen, Peter Gifford, Eileen Lai, Rula Razek and Sarah Wolf.

The Sterling Award has been presented annually since 1979. It is named for J.E. Wallace Sterling, who served the university as president from 1949 to 1968 and as chancellor until 1985. SR