Stanford University News Service
425 Santa Teresa Street
Stanford, California 94306-2245
Tel: (650) 723-2558
Fax: 650) 725-0247
http://news.stanford.edu


News Release

January 13, 2010

Contact:

Louis Bergeron, Stanford News Service: (650) 725-1944, louisb3@stanford.edu

Dan Stober, Stanford News Service: (650) 721-6965, mailto:dstober@stanford.edu

Stanford earthquake experts available to discuss temblor in Haiti with news media.

Media advisory, not for publication.

Stanford University researchers study earthquakes, how they damage structures, and how buildings can be designed to resist the violent shaking seen in the Haitian tragedy. Journalists may contact the researchers listed here:

Gregory G. Deierlein
Civil and Environmental Engineering Professor
Expert in how earthquakes affect buildings.
Email: ggd@stanford.edu">ggd@stanford.edu
Work phone: (650) 723-0453, (650) 723-4150
ggd@stanford.edu">ggd@stanford.edu

Mark D. Zoback
zoback@stanford.edu">zoback@stanford.edu
Professor of Earth Science and Geophysics
Stanford, CA 94305-2215
(650) 468-3871

Anne Kiremidjian
(650) 723-4164
Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Expert on buildings in earthquake zones.

Beroza, Greg
Professor and chair of Geophysics Department
Beroza develops and applies techniques for analyzing seismograms - recordings of seismic waves - in order to understand how earthquakes work and the hazard they pose to engineered structures.
(650) 723-4746
beroza@stanford.edu">beroza@stanford.edu

Krawinkler, Helmut
Professor emeritus of civil engineering
Krawinkler's expertise is performance-based earthquake engineering, and his work involves steel, reinforced concrete, masonry and wood buildings.
(650) 723-4129
krawinkler@stanford.edu">krawinkler@stanford.edu

Segall, Paul
Professor of geophysics
Segall develops and tests models of active plate boundaries such as the San Andreas Fault, and the nucleation of earthquakes. Main areas of research are crustal deformation, active faulting and volcanism.
(650) 725-7241
segall@stanford.edu">segall@stanford.edu

-30-

Editor Note:

Video of Anne Kiremidjian, professor of civil engineering, explaining why so many buildings collapsed in the Haitian earthquake: http://news.stanford.edu/news/2010/january11/haiti-quake-video-101310.html

To subscribe to our news releases:

Email news-service@lists.stanford.edu or phone (650) 723-2558.